About the Task Force

Governor Rick Scott signed Executive Order 13-319 on November 1st, 2013 creating the East Central Florida Corridor Task Force. The purpose of the Task Force is to evaluate and develop consensus recommendations on future transportation corridors serving established and emerging economic activity centers in portions of Brevard, Orange, and Osceola counties.

The Task Force is part of a broader statewide Future Corridors effort to coordinate future land uses and the supporting transportation network, and will serve as a pilot planning effort to be tested and evaluated for use in other future corridor planning efforts statewide. Well planned communities, major transportation corridors, and protections of the state's unique environmental and agricultural resources are critical to the state's economic competitiveness and quality of life. The Task Force will build upon the How Shall We Grow? regional vision supported by an analysis of land use, mobility, economic, environmental, water, and community issues in the study area.

The charge of the Task Force includes the identification of anticipated future development patterns and associated mobility and connectivity needs in portions of Brevard, Orange, and Osceola counties, as well as potential solutions for addressing these needs through coordinated planning and partnerships. The Task Force will involve stakeholders and the public as it develops its recommendations.

The Task Force is made up of 13 members representing local governments, private landowners, and economic development, environmental, and agricultural interests in the study area. The Task Force will be chaired by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity and will deliver an Action Report to Governor Scott by December 1st, 2014.


Task Force Members

Florida Department of Economic Opportunity Bill Killingsworth, Director of Community Development
Florida Department of Transportation Rich Biter, Assistant Secretary for Intermodal Systems Development
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services John Browne, Land Programs Administrator
Brevard County The Honorable Mary Bolin Lewis, County Commissioner
Orange County The Honorable Jennifer Thompson, County Commissioner
Osceola County The Honorable Fred Hawkins, County Commissioner
Environment/Conservation Charles Pattison, Policy Director, 1000 Friends of Florida
Environment/Conservation Charles Lee, Director of Advocacy, Audubon Florida
Deseret Ranch Erik Jacobsen, General Manager
The Viera Company Tracy Duda Chapman, CEO
Business/Economic Development Debbie Harvey, CEO of Ron Jon Surf Shop
Business/Economic Development Belinda Kirkegard, Economic Development Director,
City of Kissimmee
Citizen Marcos Marchena